As Mantras go: Midway on our lifes Journey

Midway on our life’s journey I found myself in dark woods, the right road lost/

To tell about those woods is hard, so tangled and rough and savage that thinking about it now I feel the old fear stirring/

Death is hardly more bitter.

ABOUT THE WORDS:

The words above by the way, are from Dante’s Inferno. I was in a performance class by Fools Fury Ben Yolam, and he had our class memorize the above statement.We would speak it out loud as we exercised. Interesting to note is the / slashes are meant as breath points.These are the places and only places we breathed while saying the text. It was a great exercise, but I always found it to be very depressing.

I personally much prefer the text to include the next part of the text that our instructor omitted. I feel it provides a more reassuring invocation.

And yet, to treat the good I found there as well /

I’ll tell what I saw, though how I came to enter
I cannot well say, being so full of sleep
Whatever moment it was I began to blunder /

Off the true path. But when I came to stop
Below a hill that marked one end of the valley
That had pierced my heart with terror, I looked up /

Toward the crest and saw its shoulders already
Mantled in rays of that bright planet that shows
The road to everyone, whatever our journey./

ABOUT THE IMAGE:

In astrology my ascendent is Gemini. I have always been a two-spirited person, and yet had a longing to find my twin. This is just another layered image I made of mixed media. I have two additional versions that I will post soon and explain more about the sources of material.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “As Mantras go: Midway on our lifes Journey

Leave a Reply

