A life in Kyoto: Somewhere beneath the Kyoto Rainbow…I write this

A life in Kyoto: Somewhere beneath the Kyoto Rainbow…I write this.

Rainbows have always held a special significance to me. To this day, just the same as when I was a child, I am eternally excited by the sight of a rainbow! I can still remember when I was little – after it rained I would always go outside to search for a rainbow, and upon sighting one how happy I would be and run inside all excited telling everyone there was a rainbow outside! And many, many times doing my best to try to chase the rainbow – intent on finding one of the magical ends.

I know the song “Somewhere over the rainbow” by heart and sung it many times as a child. And hummed it no doubt the many times I drew pictures of rainbows too…

And now as an adult no less in love with rainbows, I have marveled at learning more of the mythical stories of rainbows: stories as Aboriginal Spirit Serpents and Chinese myths of Koi fish who leaping up to rainbows become dragons. There are even fantastic stories that rainbows are so magical – that just walking under a rainbow – people have been said to change their sex! Just seeing a rainbow seems so magical! And not only after it rains. Why I have more than once seen incredible rainbows around the sun and the moon!

So just a few days ago I saw my first rainbow here in Kyoto… the sun was beginning to set amidst a few bare clouds, and only the lightest touch of rain lingered in the air – to give a hint that anything special might be in the sky and there quite unexpected just above the bamboo tops where Kyoto blackbirds fly – was half a rainbow smiling upside down at me!

Ever since, I can’t stop thinking about all the time’s rainbows have touched my life.

And so without further adieu,

Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high,

there’s a land that I heard of once in a lullaby.

Somewhere over the rainbow,

skies are blue,

and the dreams that you dare to dream

really do come true!

Someday I’ll wish upon a star,

and wake up where the clouds are far

behind me.

Where troubles melt like lemon drops,

away above the chimney tops,

That’s where you’ll find me!

Somewhere over the rainbow

Bluebirds fly.

Birds fly over the rainbow.

Why then, oh why can’t I?

If happy little bluebirds fly,

beyond the rainbow,

why, oh why can’t I?

“Somewhere Over the Rainbow” music by Harold Arlen and lyrics by E.Y. Harburg.

Leave a Reply

