Essay: What truly is woven is a tradition of love…

Writing Essay: What truly is woven, is a tradition of love…

My darling cats Twyla and Mei Mei, have curled up in a low round basket made of wicker – all my life, all the wonderful cats I have known have loved to curl up in baskets; and for the first time I wonder, how many centuries has humankind been weaving baskets; and for how long have we been weaving baskets for the cats living with us?

I can’t help but imagine that some of the baskets found amidst the vestiges of our tattered past cultures, were made not for grain, nor rice, not for fruit, nor breads, or any other harvested goods – but instead were made solely because we learned cats enjoyed these intricate articles of our craftsmanship. And so quite splendidly we wove some baskets, just for cats.

And I realize, what truly is woven, is a tradition of love, expressed through weaving.

To all the wonderful cats I have been blessed to know…

I love you.

Now and forever.
We are woven together.

(PS. Isn’t it funny the word Basket sounds so much like Bastet, the name of the Egyptian Cat deity?)

Leave a Reply

